优化喷砂系统

喷砂效率通常由在给定时间内达到的覆盖面积来衡量。喷砂是一个消耗时间和体力的过程,所以任何以提高工作效率为目的的手段都是操作员需要考虑的重要因素。

虽然喷砂磨料和空气混合物定义了喷砂过程,但优化气压、速度和磨料含量对于有效的进行喷砂作业至关重要。

尽管与工艺相关的变量有限,但压缩机输出、罐压、介质阀设置、喷砂管长度、喷嘴尺寸等——了解如何优化这些变量非常重要。喷砂机系统的设计旨在通过喷嘴提供最佳的空气和喷砂介质压力和流量,确保气流的压力和速度以及喷嘴处的研磨介质混合物设置正确,将为有效喷砂提供理想条件。要产生理想的喷嘴压力,需要基本了解使用较大压缩机容量(cfm或m3/min)的效果以及增加或减小喷嘴尺寸的效果。

压缩机容量

一般来说,较高的压缩机容量(CFM或m3/min)会产生较高的喷嘴压力和空气速度,从而提高喷砂效率。例如,如果将100psi(6.89bar)设置为喷嘴压力以产生最佳生产率,则80 psi(5.52bar)的喷嘴压力将产生66%的爆破效率,而仅60psi(4.14bar)的喷嘴压力将产生50%的爆破效率。生产效率下降的影响是非常大的,这就是为什么正确的设备选择是非常大的。在上面的示例中,将喷嘴压力从60psi增加到100psi(4.14bar到6.89bar),将导致操作员能够将效率提高一倍,工作速度提高一倍。如下文所述,使用更高的压缩机容量也提供了减少砂粒消耗的机会。大容量压缩机不可避免地会消耗更多的燃料。然而,当喷砂时间可以减半,额外的燃料成本变得微不足道。上面的示例显示了优化设备设置对性能的重要性。这是压缩机容量和鼓风机设置的函数。喷嘴压力、系统压力、气流和压缩机容量都通过一个简单的数学方程联系起来。简而言之,使用更大容量的压缩机将产生更高的系统和喷嘴压力,以及更高的介质速度,从而有机会使用更大的喷嘴尺寸,实现更有效的喷砂区域覆盖。

喷嘴尺寸

使用更大的喷嘴孔尺寸可产生更大的喷砂覆盖面积,但需要更大的空气容量(cfm或m3/min)来“驱动”喷嘴。较小的喷嘴尺寸通常会产生较窄的喷射模式,消耗更少的空气。为了最大限度地利用较大喷嘴直径的潜在好处,必须以足够的速度和压力向喷嘴“供应”正确的空气和介质混合物。因此,喷嘴的选择取决于压缩机产生的可用空气流量。如果选择更大的喷嘴,然后进行有效的喷砂,则需要较大的空气容量。“ 下表显示了空气量、喷嘴尺寸和喷嘴压力之间的关系,在行业中经常用于选择喷嘴尺寸。其真正的好处是为执行该项工作所需的喷嘴压力选择最佳的喷嘴尺寸。如果用户需要100psi(6.89bar)的喷嘴压力进行最佳喷砂,并使用#8½”喷嘴直径,则需要340cfm(9.63m3/min)额定压缩机。如果使用222cfm压缩机,则使用相同#8”喷嘴的合成喷嘴压力将从100psi降至60psi(6.89bar至4.14bar),这意味着喷砂效率将降低50%。”

喷砂机效率

空气容量(cfm或m3/min)、喷嘴尺寸和喷嘴压力方程也表明,如果使用高于100psi(6.8bar)的喷嘴压力,则鼓风效率将进一步提高。将空气容量从340cfm增加到430cfm,然后使用相同的8#喷嘴将在喷嘴处产生125psi(8.62bar),从而使鼓风效率比340cfm压缩机提高37%。此时,喷砂机的压力能力变得越来越重要。由于系统损失( 喷砂软管泄漏和弯曲、连接、内摩擦效率等) , 使用最大罐容量为120psi(8.27bar)或150psi(10.34bar)的喷砂机将显著限制喷嘴压力能力,并可能导致喷嘴压力明显低于100psi(6.89bar)。这会导致喷砂效 率降低50%。正因为如此, E l c o m e t e r 提供了两种喷砂机压力范围。标准型号的压力容量为180psi(12.41bar),使用正确的压缩机时,可以显著提高喷嘴压力, 相比额定压力为150psi(10.34bar)的喷砂机,其喷砂效率提高50%。

喷砂管长度和条件

如果需要较长的喷砂管,Elcometer还提供一系列最大工作压力为225psi(15.51bar)的高压(H)喷砂机。由于使用长软管作业时相关的固有压力损失,这种喷砂机可以持续供应较高的喷嘴压力,即使软管长度通常会导致喷嘴处的低压。Elcometer高压鼓风机非常适合用于大容量压缩机和长软管作业,如在许多建筑工地和造船厂中的应用。

介质阀设置

压缩机容量(cfm或m3/min)和喷嘴尺寸在喷嘴处产生工作压力,以实现最佳喷射。进入气流的介质流量由介质阀设置控制。无论选择哪种设计,阀门的设计都能确保最佳的空气/介质混合物进入喷砂软管。使用“打开”的介质阀将允许更多的介质进入软管中的气流。过量介质的重量会降低空气速度,而不会对喷嘴压力产生负面影响,但会导致喷嘴处的介质速度降低。介质速度越低,磨料的切割作用越小,因此喷砂效率越低。此外,如果系统压力没有最佳设置(使用不足的空气量或使用过大的或磨损的喷嘴),则介质消耗将增加。由于介质成本是喷砂作业的重要组成部分,因此介质阀必须根据条件进行最佳设置。

改变设置

有五个关键变量对喷砂过程的生产效率有显著影响。

  • 压缩机风量
  • 喷嘴尺寸
  • 喷砂机效率
  • 喷砂管长度和条件
  • 介质阀设置
 

喷嘴压力 psi (bar)

喷嘴尺寸和孔
直径

空气容量 - cfm (m³/min) 50 60 70 80 90 100 125 150
(3.45) (4.14) (4.83) (5.52) (6.21) (6.89) (8.62) (10.34)
12 13 15 17 19 21 25 29 #2
(0.34) (0.37) (0.42) (0.48) (0.54) (0.59) (0.71) (0.82) 3.2mm - 1/8"
25 30 34 38 42 46 56 67 #3
(0.71) (0.85) (0.96) (1.10) (1.19) (1.30) (1.59) (1.90) 4.8mm - 3/16"
47 54 61 68 75 81 98 115 #4
(1.33) (1.53) (1.73) (1.93) (2.12) (2.30) (2.77) (3.26) 6.35mm - 1/4"
76 89 101 114 126 138 169 200 #5
(2.15) (2.52) (2.86) (3.22) (3.56) (3.90) (4.78) (5.66) 8mm 5/16"
107 125 143 161 179 197 242 287 #6
(3.02) (3.54) (4.04) (4.55) (5.06) (5.57) (6.85) (8.12) 9.5mm - 3/8"
149 171 193 215 237 259 314 369 #7
(4.21) (4.84) (5.46) (6.09) (6.71) (7.33) (8.89) (10.44) 11mm - 7/16"
193 222 252 281 310 340 412 485 #8
(5.46) (6.28) (7.13) (7.95) (8.77) (9.63) (11.66) (13.73) 12.5mm - 1/2"
305 353 401 449 497 545 665 785 #10
(8.63) (9.99) (11.35) (12.71) (14.07) (15.43) (18.83) (22.22) 16mm - 5/8"
401 488 574 661 747 833 1050 1266 #12
(11.35) (13.81) (16.25) (18.71) (21.15) (23.58) (29.73) (35.84) 19mm - 3/4"

OPTIMISE YOUR BLAST

The efficiency of blasting is often measured by the coverage area achieved in a given time. Blasting is a time consuming and physically demanding process and anything that the operator can use to enable them to work more effectively is important to consider.

Whilst the blast media and air mix defines the blasting process, optimising the air pressure, speed and abrasive content is vital if the blasting process is to be carried out efficiently.

Although the variables associated with the process are limited; compressor output, pot pressure, media valve setting, hose length, nozzle size, etc. - understanding how to optimise these variables is vitally important. Abrasive Blast Machine systems are designed to provide the optimum pressure and flow of both air and blast media through the blast nozzle. Ensuring that both the pressure & speed of the air flow and the abrasive media mix at the nozzle are set correctly will provide the ideal conditions for efficient blasting. To generate the ideal blast nozzle pressure requires a basic understanding of the effect of using a larger compressor capacity (cfm or m3/min) and the effect of increasing or decreasing the nozzle size.

Compressor Capacity

As a general rule a higher compressor capacity (in cfm or m3/min) generates higher nozzle pressures and air speeds resulting in the opportunity to increase blasting efficiency. For example, if 100psi (6.8bar) is set as a nozzle pressure to generate optimum productivity, then a nozzle pressure of 80psi (5.5bar) will result in 66% blasting efficiency and a nozzle pressure of just 60psi (4.1bar) will result in 50% blasting efficiency. Such productivity reductions are quite significant and it is important to fully appreciate how the correct equipment choice can increase the effectiveness of your blasting. In the example above, increasing the nozzle pressure from 60psi to 100psi will result in the operator being able to double their efficiency and doubling their work speed. Using a higher compressor capacity also provides the opportunity to reduce grit consumption as explained below. It is inevitable that a larger capacity compressor will use more fuel. However when blast time can be halved, the additional fuel costs become insignificant. The above example shows how optimising the equipment settings is critical to performance. This is a function of both the compressor capacity and the blast machine settings. The nozzle pressure, system pressure, airflow and compressor capacity are all linked by a simple mathematical equation. Put simply, using a higher capacity compressor will generate higher system and nozzle pressures and also higher media speeds resulting in the opportunity to use bigger nozzle sizes and thus achieve more efficient blast area coverage.

Nozzle Size

Using larger nozzle orifice sizes produces a greater blast coverage area but requires a greater air capacity (cfm or m3/min) to ‘power’ the nozzle. A smaller nozzle size will typically produce a narrower blast pattern and consume less air. To maximise the potential benefits of using a larger nozzle diameter it is essential to ‘supply’ the nozzle with the correct air & media mix at sufficient speed and pressure. The choice of nozzle is therefore determined by the available air flow produced by the compressor. If a larger nozzle is chosen then to blast efficiently, a higher air capacity is required. The table opposite shows the correlation between volume of air, nozzle size and nozzle pressure and is often used in the industry to select nozzle size. Its real benefit is to select the optimum nozzle size for the nozzle pressure required to carry out the job. If the user requires a nozzle pressure of 100psi (6.8bar) for optimum blasting and is using a ½” #8 nozzle diameter then they would need a 340cfm (9.63m3/min) rated compressor. If a 222cfm compressor was used then the resultant nozzle pressure using the same #8 nozzle would be reduced from 100psi to 60psi (4.1bar), meaning the blast efficiency would be reduced by 50%.

ABM Efficiency

The air capacity (in cfm or m3/min), nozzle size and nozzle pressure equation also suggests that blast efficiency will increase further if nozzle pressures above 100psi (6.8bar) are used. Increasing the air capacity from 340cfm to 430cfm then using the same #8 nozzle will generate 125psi (8.6bar) at the nozzle resulting in an increase in blast efficiency of 37% above that obtained from a 340cfm compressor. It is at this point where the pressure capacity of the abrasive blast machines now becomes increasingly important. Due to the system losses (blast hose leakage and flex, connections, internal friction efficiency, etc.), using an abrasive blast machine with a maximum pot capacity of as low as 120psi (8.2bar) or 150psi (10.3bar) will significantly restrict the nozzle pressure capability and may result in nozzle pressures being limited to significantly below 100psi (6.8bar). This can result in up to 50%, reductions in blast efficiency. It is for this reason that Elcometer offer two abrasive blast machine pressure ranges. The standard model has a pressure capacity of 180psi (12.4bar) which, when using the correct compressor, can significantly higher nozzle pressures and thus increase blast efficiency by as much as 50% above that possible when using a 150psi (10.3bar) rated abrasive blast machine.

Hose Length & Condition

Where long hose lengths are necessary, Elcometer also offer a range of high pressure (H) abrasive blast machines which have a maximum working pressure of 225psi (15.5bar). Due to the inherent pressure losses associated with long hose runs, these machines can continue to supply high nozzle pressures even when the hose length would normally result in low pressure at the nozzle. The Elcometer high pressure blast machines are ideal for use with large capacity compressors and long hose length applications such as those found in many construction sites and shipyards.

Media Valve Setting

Compressor capacity (in cfm or m3/min) and nozzle size generate the working pressure at the nozzle for optimum blasting. The media flow entering the air stream is controlled by the media valve setting. Whichever design is chosen the valve is designed to ensure the optimum air/media mix to enter the blast hose. Using an ‘open’ media valve will allow more media to enter the air stream in the hose. The weight of the excess media reduces the air speed which, whilst not negatively affecting the nozzle pressure, will result in lower media speed at the nozzle. Lower media speed results in less cutting action from the abrasive and thus less blasting efficiency. Furthermore, when the system pressure is not optimally set (use of insufficient cfm or use of oversize or worn nozzle) then media consumption will increase. As media costs are a significant part of the blast process then it is vital for the grit valve to be optimally set for the conditions.

Changing the Settings

There are five key variables that have a significant effect on the productivity of the blasting process.

  • Compressor cfm
  • Nozzle Size
  • Blast Machine Efficiency
  • Hose Length & Condition
  • Media Valve Setting
 

Nozzle Pressure psi (bar)

Nozzle Size & Orifice
Diameter
Volume of Air - cfm (m³/min) 50 60 70 80 90 100 125 150
(3.45) (4.14) (4.83) (5.52) (6.21) (6.89) (8.62) (10.34)
12 13 15 17 19 21 25 29 #2
(0.34) (0.37) (0.42) (0.48) (0.54) (0.59) (0.71) (0.82) 3.2mm - 1/8"
25 30 34 38 42 46 56 67 #3
(0.71) (0.85) (0.96) (1.10) (1.19) (1.30) (1.59) (1.90) 4.8mm - 3/16"
47 54 61 68 75 81 98 115 #4
(1.33) (1.53) (1.73) (1.93) (2.12) (2.30) (2.77) (3.26) 6.35mm - 1/4"
76 89 101 114 126 138 169 200 #5
(2.15) (2.52) (2.86) (3.22) (3.56) (3.90) (4.78) (5.66) 8mm 5/16"
107 125 143 161 179 197 242 287 #6
(3.02) (3.54) (4.04) (4.55) (5.06) (5.57) (6.85) (8.12) 9.5mm - 3/8"
149 171 193 215 237 259 314 369 #7
(4.21) (4.84) (5.46) (6.09) (6.71) (7.33) (8.89) (10.44) 11mm - 7/16"
193 222 252 281 310 340 412 485 #8
(5.46) (6.28) (7.13) (7.95) (8.77) (9.63) (11.66) (13.73) 12.5mm - 1/2"
305 353 401 449 497 545 665 785 #10
(8.63) (9.99) (11.35) (12.71) (14.07) (15.43) (18.83) (22.22) 16mm - 5/8"
401 488 574 661 747 833 1050 1266 #12
(11.35) (13.81) (16.25) (18.71) (21.15) (23.58) (29.73) (35.84) 19mm - 3/4"